Our Board

The Leo Baeck Centre is run by a volunteer Board. The Board meets monthly to discuss issues and to make decisions relevant to our congregation’s various activities. Our annual general meeting occurs in late March of each year, at which office bearers and committee members are elected.

2019/2020 LBC Executive:

Dr Jim Beck & Ms Gillian Lubansky

Vice Presidents
Ms Tanya Warms

Hon. Secretary
Ms Caroline Oblak

Co-Hon. Treasurers
Ms Marlis Cohen & Mr Ellis Edwards

Immediate Past President
Mr Mannie Gross

 2019/2020 LBC Board:

  • Mr Martie Abraham
  • Mr Stephen Hacker
  • Mrs Deborah Ogawa
  • Dr Michael Polack
  • Mr Matthew Rose (co-opted)
  • Ms Lisa Sylvan
  • Dr Jon Taft
  • Mr Michael Taft


The board has a number of ‘standing’ sub-committees responsible for various tasks, and occasionally a special purpose committee is established to carry out a particular project. Our major standing committees are:

  • Care
  • Communications
  • House
  • House of Study
  • Leo Baeck Arts Centre
  • Library
  • Membership
  • Ritual
  • Security
  • Youth Education